FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

GAME AND COMPONENTS

Q: Rules version 1.0 indicates the presence of oval stands for artillery and cavalry units... but an errata in the box indicated to insert ALL the units in the round stands. Why?.
A: For a mistake, the first Y&R boxes was without oval stands.  Those who wish may purchase additional blue/red oval stands (see page "Order"), or by ordering a game of your choice, they will be shipped free of charge. Since 2010 the game includes oval stands too.

Q: The Terrain tiles are the same than Vive l'Empereur?
A: The 4 "Terrain set", being the same size, are also compatible with VLE. Also there are new types of terrain as the "wooded hill" and the "creek" (these run along the side of the hexagon and not in the center as in VLE). There are no road hexes.

Q: The map is a thik carboard mounted?
A: Map is printed on 350 gr paper and front/back laminated.  The units counters and pre-cut Terrain sets are printed on 500 gr paper and laminated.

RULES (versione 2.0):
Clarification: (Sequence of game) 
Q: Q: When you roll activation dice and the results show the enemy flag, when the opponent must move his / her the unit?
A: Before any other unit (see 2.0 / 3). If you roll two enemy flags, the opponent "may" (not obliged), move 2 units on the map in an adjacent hex. 3 flags, 3 units and so on.

Q: During enemy activation if 1 or more dice showing my flag, the movement of the unit is considered to be activated?
A: No, this movement is considered as "deployment" and does not count as activation. This allows you to move 1 hex also units already activated, the only limitation is that it does not move adjacent to enemy units. If two or more dice are rolled with the flag of the opponent, 2 or more units will redeploy in an adjacent hex.

 
Clarification: (Round of game)

Q: What are the markers that reproduce the 4 symbols of the dice activation?
A: Once you rolled the dice, take the appropriate markers to "remember" the dice result. Because dice are also used for combat, it is useful to remember what you rolled.

Q: When a die rolled show the roun yellow icon with a hat, do you move both units in a hex?
A: Yes, see conditions specified in 3.0.


Clarification: (Reaction fires)

Q: A unit already activated can react if an enemy unit moves adjacent?
A: Yes, even several times during the battle round (vedi 4.3).

Q: If a unit is already in the hex and is activated by attaching the adjacent units, units attacked can react?
A: No!  Unit reacts ONLY when enemy units MOVE in the adjacent hex (vedi 4.3).

A: If one or more adjacent units react to the movement of enemy units, combat is contemporary? 
Q: Yes. The unit after the fighting is considered activated. It will not in turn take action voluntarily, but it will react every time an enemy unit will move next.


Clarification: (Combat 5.3)

Q: If two units are in a single hex and only one reacts by firing to a unit that has moved adjacent to, any loss of which units will be sustained?
A: In the hexagons in which there are two units, the first  loss  will suffer the unit with the most combat factor. If both have the same combat factor, the unit reacted will take loss.

Q: When you attack a hex, if there are 2 units, you attack the hex or a specific target?
A: All the units in the hexagon are attacked. The unit with more combat factor suffered the losses and if it is forced to retreat, ALL the stack must retreat, except for units in hexes with trenches that ignore the results of "retreat" (see 5.4 - treat them as "save").


Clarification: (Terrain Effects 5.3.1)

Q: The effect of terrain are cumulative? For example, the wood with the river or the hill with the river, as are modified?
A: Yes, if you attack a hexside through a creek and the attacked hex is also a wood or hill, the attacker rolls 2 dice less.


Clarification: (Retreat 5.4.2)

D: A unit attacked and forced to RETIRE is considered activated?
R: No! It is considered activated  ONLY if it reacted to fire (see 4.3), or had already been activated earlier in the round.


Clarification: (Recover combat factor)

Q: Units that recover combat factor can come back at full strength although they had started the scenario at reduced strength?
A: Yes, because the victory points are awarded based on Combat Factor of the  eliminated units and consequently the unit MUST be able to recover the lost steps.
Notes: "Y & R - Gettysburg 1863" is designed for the campaign game (3 days), the possibility to start the scenario in the intermediate days (reduced in strength), is only one variable adapted historically.